ELAINE READS: THE KNIFE OF NEVER LETTING GO

I am happy to announce that I managed to finish three books last month! That’s a good sign because in April, I only read one short novel, Wanderlove, and I have no idea what happened in between those times because I like reading so much. The level of toxicity at work, perhaps, but I am making up for it now. *slow clap* BTW, you can check the links to my Goodreads account and the list of the books I’ve read (so far) this year on the sidebar!

The last book I read was Patrick Ness’ The Knife of Never Letting Go. Below is a summary from Goodreads:

Todd Hewitt is the only boy in a town of men. Ever since the settlers were infected with the Noise germ, Todd can hear everything the men think, and they hear everything he thinks. Todd is just a month away from becoming a man, but in the midst of the cacophony, he knows that the town is hiding something from him — something so awful Todd is forced to flee with only his dog, whose simple, loyal voice he hears too. With hostile men from the town in pursuit, the two stumble upon a strange and eerily silent creature: a girl. Who is she? Why wasn’t she killed by the germ like all the females on New World? Propelled by Todd’s gritty narration, readers are in for a white-knuckle journey in which a boy on the cusp of manhood must unlearn everything he knows in order to figure out who he truly is.

I guess I can say that I am a fan of dystopian books (see: The Hunger Games trilogy, Harry Potter, etc.) and when I saw Isa Garcia’s review of The Chaos Walking series, I knew I had to read it. I did a little research on Tumblr, carefully sifted through many text posts for possible spoilers, and the results were very, hmmm… intriguing. It was like looking at a hacked voting result because the response was unanimous. Everyone loves it, recommends it, and keeps rereading it.

One thing you must know about me is that I take recommendations seriously, especially when it comes to books. I find it tiring to rummage through shelves to know what books to read next (don’t hate, I’m just that lazy) so I follow a lot of book blogs and I keep my Goodreads account updated and so on. So one fine Saturday afternoon I decided to give The Chaos Walking series a try, I’m finally doing it regardless of the fact that I already saw it before, read the thing on the back cover, and completely ignored it because it did not interest me at all (sorry, don’t kill me). I went to Bibliarch Makati and bought the entire series. I wasn’t able to start immediately because I was finishing Rick Riordan’s The Son of Neptune although I was itching to. But anyway, it had its time.

The UK edition is so pretty! Photo from here.

I was surprised because Todd Hewitt has a southern accent and didn’t know a lot; he is illiterate, no-read-no-write, almost. And Ness cunningly included phrases with misspelled words (lots of them!) like dammayshun, yer, direkshuns, and curse words which I liked best because not many authors allow their characters to drop geedees and f-bombs thinking of their audience. I don’t know, maybe because I curse like sailor which makes this tiny bit close to home. Apart from that, I also liked that the animals can speak; it has the Disney movie Up vibe to it. Oh Manchee, Manchee, Manchee.

Honestly, I didn’t like it as much as the Internet likes it. Maybe because I haven’t finished all three books, but right now that’s how I feel about The Knife of Never Letting Go. I’m pretty sure I wrote “It did not disappoint” somewhere but that just wouldn’t do, would it? I still don’t know how to describe it. I like it, okay, I do but it didn’t get through me. It didn’t make me want to stop, cry, and crumple the book’s pages because my life was over. The only thing that got me to finishing it was the excellent writing. He wants you to never sleep and continue reading, this Patrick Ness. The thrill made me miss my stop (I read during commutes, YOLO!) several times. I also wanted to know if they’re going to make it out alive or if Haven really exists or if Manchee is out there, somewhere. But what do I know? I was faced with a cliffhanger instead.

I was saving this for my TFiOS review but it stuck to me like glue. John Green said“All I can think about now, as night fell, was how much you can love made up people and how much you can miss them.” Look, I was disappointed. Maybe that’s why it didn’t stick. Maybe I am so used to novels with proper endings, like in The Son of Neptune. Maybe I was still on a Percy Jackson high. Maybe I was looking for Percy and Annabeth in Viola and Todd. But, I still have two books to change my mind about the series. Maybe after book two, things will change and I will cry because someone died a tragic death. There’s still hope, yes. After all, hope was all Todd and Vi had left at the end, right?

2 thoughts on “ELAINE READS: THE KNIFE OF NEVER LETTING GO

Leave a Reply

