FINALLY

I finished a book! I’m going to finish a whole bunch of novels from my untouched shelf this month to make up for August aka my laziest month ever. No more lazing!

This is my bookface. Apologies for the hideous nails; I am gross.

So I jumpstart September by reading, no, not Fifty Shades of Grey but David Levithan’s Every Day.  I was eyeing this since it was up in the market for pre-order but I’m a very poor girl so I figured I’d wait for pdf files over the interwebs. Fortunately while strolling the mall yesterday, I chanced upon this baby in a local bookstore. I couldn’t resist. It was right there in the palm of my hands. I had to buy it. I had to. It’s for the benefit of my well-being!

(Note to future self: never go to the mall alone. Do not trust the thin piece of glass separating you and the smug books on the shelves. It’s a trap.)

RATING: 3.5 out of 5 stars

Synopsis (from Goodreads)

Every day a different body. Every day a different life. Every day in love with the same girl.

There’s never any warning about where it will be or who it will be. A has made peace with that, even established guidelines by which to live: Never get too attached. Avoid being noticed. Do not interfere.
It’s all fine until the morning that A wakes up in the body of Justin and meets Justin’s girlfriend, Rhiannon. From that moment, the rules by which A has been living no longer apply. Because finally A has found someone he wants to be with—day in, day out, day after day.

With his new novel, David Levithan, bestselling co-author of Will Grayson, Will Grayson, and Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist, has pushed himself to new creative heights. He has written a captivating story that will fascinate readers as they begin to comprehend the complexities of life and love in A’s world, as A and Rhiannon seek to discover if you can truly love someone who is destined to change every day.

David Levithan is one of the many young adult novelists I look up to. From Boy Meets Boy, Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist, Will Grayson, Will Grayson, to The Lover’s Dictionary; you just know he means business. This David, he knows his readers too well. He knows what we like! Every Day is a great addition to Levithan’s fantastic list of awesome.

Thoughts on Every Day (in bullets) PS I’ll try my best not to include spoilers!

  • Well-written prose, as expected.
  • It has a very interesting plot. Who wouldn’t dare read a book about a person/soul/entity waking up in somebody else’s body to live his/her life for a day and that’s it? Tomorrow it’s a freaking new body, new life, new parents. Its premise is very new to me; I’ve never read anything with a plot like this.
  • At first I felt bad for the narrator (let’s call him A because he likes to be called A which reminds me of Pretty Little Liars‘ A) because you’re allowed to have all these memories of being in different places and experiences with various people, but nobody remembers A for A. For outsiders, it’s just another day with their 16-year old pal. What they don’t know is that on the inside, it’s a different person.
  • A used to be okay with this kind of strange set up until A meets a girl named Rhiannon. Rhiannon is an interesting lady. She doesn’t know she’s beautiful, doesn’t know her worth, she kinda reminds me of GIRLS’ Hannah Horvath minus the eagerness to test the level of her self worth by watching a creepy (but very likable) guy jack off.
  • At one point in the novel, A’s over zealousness to pursue Rhiannon annoyed me but what can I say? Love makes you do stupid things. Love makes you defy the rules. Love makes you an idiot.
  • I think Justin really loves Rhiannon, he’s just too chickenshit to admit it.
  • It’s also cool that we’ll never find out what really happens when A transports from one body to another and the truth about staying longer than 24 hours.
  • I love how Levithan incorporated almost all types of teens in the book. From normal to angst-y, Christ followers, homosexual, fat, thin, athlete, twins, black, white, rich, poor, Asian, pot head, suicidal, deeply troubled, fractured, mean teenagers.
  • I didn’t cry, hurrah. It’s one of the reasons why I gave it 3.5 stars. I didn’t feel it, like something lacked. Not romance, but something I can’t describe. More like empathy between the reader and A. Something like that.
  • A tiny part of me is butthurt because of the book’s ending. I wish A found a less evil way to get what he wanted. It’s frustrating in my part as a reader because we read to escape reality and guh no matter how mindblowing this was, I am not having a change of heart in regards to the end. :/
  • But it was filled with a vast number of well-written lines that made me gasp and stop for a bit. Lines that made me read the words aloud, letting them sink into me for digestion. One of my favorites is this:

This is what love does: it makes you want to rewrite the world. It makes you want to choose the characters, build the scenery, guide the plot. The person you love sits across from you, and you want to do everything in your power to make it possible, endlessly possible. And when it’s just the two of you, alone in a room, you can pretend that this is how it is, this is how it will be.

Ultimately, it’s a good read. I had a great time uncovering the whole mystery about A’s existence albeit Levithan didn’t give away much. You have to take note that I read this for 12 hours only. I couldn’t stay away from this book. It’s that good.

5 thoughts on “FINALLY

Leave a Reply

