I was not prepared for these feels. I always forget how Doctor Who gives you three or four fun adventures in a row and then BAM! RIPS YOUR HEART OUT AND STOMPS ON IT.

The Rings of Akhaten is oddly low on action and heavy on the boots. What REALLY tore me apart was Eleven’s climactic speech.

eleven

I have lost things you’ll never understand.

There he was, standing in front of a massive (literal) ball of fury, telling the old god of his memories, of the things he had seen, of his history as a Time Lord. I mean, the Doctor crying is the worst thing ever.

“because I have lived a life and I have seen a few things. I walked away from the last great time war, I marked the passing of the Time Lords. I saw the birth of the universe and I watched as time ran out, moment by moment until nothing remained. No time, no space, just me! I walked in universes where the law of physics were devised by the mind of a mad man. But I’ve watched universes freeze and creations burn, I have seen things you wouldn’t believe, I have lost things you’ll never understand. And I know things, secrets that must never be told, knowledge that must never be spoken. Knowledge that will make parasite gods blaze. So come on then, take it, take it all baby. Have it, you have it all.”

episode 7

Props to Matt Smith for pulling that off. Every emotional scene from his era, in my honest opinion, has been well done. The guy rocked the shit out of every episode involving a catastrophe of feelings. I think most Whovians prefer Nine or Ten but I have high hopes for Eleven and he has not let me down.

episode 7(2)

Clara is also growing on me like the precious thing she is. She’s spirited, intelligent, headstrong, and most importantly, she’s a mystery. Also (!) that bit she said to the fandom: I am not gonna compete with a ghost. It is like telling us all she’s not Amy Pond or Rose Tyler or Donna. She’s Clara Oswald, the girl with the most important leaf in human history.

Despite the intense drama we clearly don’t need (not this time, Moffat) The Rings of Akhaten is definitely one of my favorite episodes. What did you guys think about it?

9 thoughts on “Thanks For The Tears, Doctor Who

  1. I haven’t watched it yet, but I need to say this because I feel that he doesn’t get much love from the fans. Nine is still my favorite doctor, with Eleven a close second. I am super bummed that Nine is not going to be part of the 50th anniversary episode. 😦

    • I know! Most people say Eleven is silly and child-like, unlike the Classic Doctors. Eeek, I’m not really a fan of Ten. I read he’d be part of the 50th special.

Leave a Reply

