“You can’t cling to the past because no matter how tightly you hold on, it’s already gone.”

Ah, How I Met Your Mother. While I don’t appreciate things, especially works of fiction, playing with my emotions, tonight’s episode is difficult to ignore. Eight seasons later, I still don’t understand how Ted could be the most annoying and, at the same time, the wisest character of the show.

Image

Did Steven Moffat write this episode? Because I have so many feels~ for a moment I thought I was watching Sherlock. Just kidding.

Because maybe it’s dumb to look for signs from the universe. Maybe the universe has better things to do… dear GOD I hope it does. Do you know how many signs I’ve gotten that I should or shouldn’t be with someone?  And where has it gotten me? Maybe there aren’t any signs. Maybe a locket is just a locket and a chair is just a chair. Maybe we don’t have to give meaning to every little thing. Maybe we don’t need the universe to tell us what we really want. Maybe we already know that deep down.

Thanks to Schmosby, I am now on the edge (of emptying a huge bottle of Russian vodka). These How I Met Your Mother speeches, god, when will I ever get tired of them? Never, I guess. Because these little bits of honesty we have heard over the years taught me the things I do not know and made me remember the ones I lost track of because I was too busy holding on to things that do not matter.

I love how Ted busted his belief system – signs, the mystery of how the universe works, clinging on to the past – just so Robin pushes through with the wedding. Congratulations, man, you have finally let go. You are setting up for the final closure. You have paid your dues and next week, we get to meet *the* Mother.

This episode is an end and a beginning for everyone. Maybe Ted is right. Maybe it IS dumb to look for signs from the universe. Maybe it’s time to grow up and go after what we really want.

One week and the season is over. The finale is going to crush my feels some more, I can already taste it.

4 thoughts on “Something Old (Like Toying with My Feelings)

  1. busting a belief system – this is fantastic. i don’t watch this show, or a lot of shows for that matter, but this is another nice insight, lady. and you’re totally right. we just have to go after what we want and that is all that matters. 🙂

Leave a Reply

