At some point I wanted to believe I wasn’t brave enough to stand up for myself. I thought dying was a clever way to prove the world that I was not afraid.

Bravery is knowing that you can’t change who you are. It is simply a form of acceptance. Accepting that you are not immune to danger or hurt. It is seeing danger and the possibility of being hurt but proceeding regardless.

Veronica Roth, author of Divergent, wrote the Dauntless manifesto: “I believe in ordinary acts of bravery, in the courage that drives one person to stand up for another.”

And this I tell you: I am no longer frightened to stand up for myself.

These are the songs that make me brave.

True Love Will Find You In The End” by Wilco
World Spins Madly On” by The Weepies
Someday You Will Be Loved” by Death Cab For Cutie
Lost Girls” by Tilly and The Wall
Lifeforms” by Daughter
The Perfect Ending” by Straylight Run
Lifening” by Snow Patrol
I Must Belong Somewhere” by Bright Eyes
The Resolution” by Jack’s Mannequin
Another Day Montage” by RENT 2008 Cast

This post is written for Truth Thursdays.

13 thoughts on “Truth Thursdays: This Journey

Leave a Reply

