gillian flynn gone girl

Gillian Flynn‘s Gone Girl is probably one of the most disturbing books I have read in my life. [SPOILERS!]

I’m letting this out this early because I have to: Maybe we should write a petition to change the title to Sociopath Girl & Narcissistic Misogynist: The Anticlimactic End. I swear, if people end up to be like Nick and Amy, I will hang myself right after I am done with this entry.

In a nutshell, Gone Girl is about a married couple in their late 30’s – early 40’s (I cannot remember, honestly you will just remember the disturbing parts). Amy has been missing (at least the first 1/3 of the book), abducted(?), killed(?) by her writer(?) husband(?). Anyway, you really can’t expect me to write a synopsis of this book after reading it so here’s one from GoodReads.

Real note from my iPhone:

Gone Girl = this isn’t going to be a smooth read.

AND

The writing style is really hard to get into, and as I know Nick is an unreliable narrator (sound like any other Nicks we know?).

It’s a tangle of sticky lies and shifts from one identity to another.  Amy Elliott Dunne kept talking about her being self aware, when in fact she is nothing but a really cunning (serial killer levels) sociopath. And the boy Nick, man, how many Nicks have I dated and how many of them cheated on me???

The book is so much more painful if you let it surprise you.

The internalized misogyny surprised me, like where did all these things come from?

I don’t have anything else to say. Have a cupcake?

Last words: Gillian Flynn I hope you are okay because your characters sure aren’t.

Recommended to: anyone who enjoys reading thrillers, mysteries, whodunit types of novels.

3 thoughts on “Fucked Up Read of the Year: Gone Girl

  1. Pretty much summed up the whole experience.

    I went into this book with zero expectations. I swear, I just downloaded the ebook and started reading a few pages, expecting a totally different book, and I was like, WTF. No, what. Seriously.

    It killed me.

Leave a Reply

