PM, the wonderful lady, tagged me on a book meme! I instantly thought about what John Green said about books being the ultimate dumpees, thus the title. Anyway, I’ll get on with it.

the boy who lived harry potter

Author you’ve Read the Most Books from: It’s J.K. Rowling. I was late(ish) to the Harry Potter party, I only got to read The Sorcerer’s Stone when I was a freshman in high school but since then, I got so hooked like the rest of the HP fandom. I also have almost all of Chuck Palahniuk’s books and all of John Green’s books and George R.R. Martin’s The Song of Ice and Fire series.

Best Sequel Ever: It’s a tie between J.K. Rowling’s Harry Potter and The Prizoner of Azkaban and Rick Riordan’s The Son of Neptune.

Currently Reading: Megan McCafferty’s Fourth Comings. I am so mad I only got on the Jessica Darling fandom a month ago. HOWWHATWHY

tea books cigarettes

Drink of Choice While Reading: I like reading with warm tea within reach and a menthol cigarette between my lips.

E-reader or Physical Book? Lol this was one of the questions in my speaking exam last year. Anyway as much as I like the smell of new (and old) books, I am now quite partial to e-reading just because it’s the only way to get what I want and not be poor. I get physical copies every now and then a.k.a. when I REALLY love the book.

Fictional Character You Probably Would Have Actually Dated In High School: It’s a triple tie: Marcus Flutie (Jessica Darling series), Park (Eleanor & Park), and Augustus Waters (The Fault in Our Stars).

Glad You Gave This Book A Chance: Robert Galbraith’s The Cuckoo’s Calling! It honestly bored me to death, and I’ll admit I only read it because of the J.K. Rowling fuss, but I’m glad I got to the end because it’s a great read. Trust me on this y’all.

Hidden Gem Book: Chuck Palahniuk’s Rant. It’s weird and science fiction-y without you even knowing it. I love how the author gets really obscene and I am a sucker for philosophical views underneath a clusterfuck of weird.

pushing daisies

Important Moment in your Reading Life: When I read Melina Marchetta’s On the Jellicoe Road, I wasn’t expecting a lot. I was one hormonal mess, I just stopped taking my medication, I was losing interest in things I enjoy doing. In short, I was backsliding. I lost hope and then lost some more (oooh cheesy) but through this beautifully woven piece of YA, I regained what was lost and I held on to it. I can also say the same for Patrick Ness’ the Chaos Walking series and Jonathan Safran Foer’s Everything Is Illuminated but On the Jellicoe Road was utterly spot on.

Just Finished: Megan McCafferty’s Charmed Thirds.

Kinds of Books You Won’t Read: Erotic Romance (looking at you 50 Shades of Yuck) and non-fiction

Longest Book You’ve Read: The Song of Ice and Fire novels are extremely hard to process. They aren’t as voluminous in pages but my friend George R.R. Martin is a fan of incredibly detailed narrative which I think is the reason why it takes him years to finish a novel. Which is good, by the way, because it keeps the fans hungry and excited!

Major book hangover because of: Markus Zusak’s The Book Thief. Seriously guys, just read this one already.

Number of Bookcases You Own: My books are all over the place. Most of my books are stored in a huge cabinet and then some on the floor of my room and a few on my bedside table.

One Book You Have Read Multiple Times: John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars. INCOMPARABLE!

donnie is reading get out

Preferred Place To Read: It doesn’t matter – I’d read anywhere! (I’ll steal this one from PM!)

Quote that inspires you/gives you all the feels from a book you’ve read: “When did the future switch from being a promise to being a threat?” from Chuck Palahniuk’s Invisible Monsters.

Reading Regret: Haruki Murakami’s 1Q84, Cecilia Ahern’s Love, Rosie, and Jennifer E. Smith’s The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight.

Series You Started And Need To Finish(all books are out in series): Harry Potter, the Jessica Darling series, and Veronica Roth’s Divergent series.

okay the fault in our stars

Three of your All-Time Favorite Books: The Fault in Our Stars, J.D. Salinger’s Franny and Zooey, and On the Jellicoe Road.

Unapologetic Fangirl For: Young Adult fiction

Very Excited For This Release More Than All The Others: Rick Riordan’s House of Hades and Veronica Roth’s Allegiant.

Worst Bookish Habit: Reading at work (sorry I’m not sorry! I am always reading the good parts when my break is over!), staying up late saying, “One more page.” and ending up not sleeping at all.

X Marks The Spot: Start at the top left of your shelf and pick the 27th book: Nick Hornby’s High Fidelity.

Your latest book purchase: The last physical copy I bought was Neil Gaiman’s The Ocean at the End of the Lane.

ZZZ-snatcher book (last book that kept you up WAY late): Rainbow Rowell’s Eleanor & Park! I really had to know what happened because feelings.

Thanks PM for the diversion! I really enjoyed this meme! 🙂

12 thoughts on “The Ultimate Dumpee Meme

  1. I’ve just finished reading Eleonor & Park (thanks for your recommendation!), and I agree about “feelings”! Park is such a cutie patootie, and I also would date him! I also like reading Young Adult fiction because it’s generally more fun to read, in my opinion. I read to relax, and YA fiction makes me relax. Loved this post, going to bookmark this for reference. 🙂

  2. happy not to fight about fictional characters we’d like to date 😉 i’m so going to read eleonor & park, jellicoe road, everthing is illuminated, and chaos walking. hmm… i’m going to the manila international book fair next month, good to have a list, right? hey, do you want to go there, we can see each other or something. YA fiction are kind of cool, there’s something infinitely cool about them and they always leave us asking wtf happened to us when we grew up 😆 lovely post, lady!

Leave a Reply

