Today I offer you another book I finished in one sitting or lying (what, I was in bed and it was 10 pm) – Jess Rothenberg’s The Catastrophic History of You and Me.

the catastrophic history of you and me

Image courtesy of Goodreads

To be honest, I am not drawn to the cover as it is a bit too tacky for my liking. What happened to the likes of This Song Will Save Your Life?

However, the plot description kind of did it for me. A fifteen-year-old girl, Brie, died literally of a broken heart after her boyfriend broke up with her and she wakes up in the afterlife utterly clueless what’s going to happen next. She gets help from one of the dead and gone, Patrick, who looks like Tom Cruise circa Top Gun and from there, everything gets interesting and weird. Interestingly weird, anyone?

I didn’t think I would like this book so much but Brie’s voice is fresh and snarky and so fun to read. She’s a well-adjusted fifteen-year-old and I like that. Patrick, on the other hand, is sort of a snob but is also a witty guy who talks too much in a likeable way.

I like that the plot was framed around the Kubler-Ross Model aka the Five Stages of Grief. It wasn’t just about Brie Eagan and how she moves on with her life after death. It’s also about the people she left behind and how they cope with this kind of tragedy.

The only thing that I am iffy about is the backstory. It felt unnatural and forced. I am also not a fan of several uncalled for cheesy lines but I can live with it.

Overall, I give The Catastrophic History of You and Me 3 stars. It’s funny and sad and the characters are hella flawed but there are so many takeaways from reading it. The It may not be the life shattering or life changing YA novel you’re looking for but it’s worth a read.

One thought on “The Catastrophic History of You and Me

Leave a Reply

