Okay, so maybe I was in a slump after seeing The National live. I also tendered my resignation a week ago so I’ve been pretty comfortable the past week to the point of not showering (shhh) for a day. I’m gross and that’s okay! But after seeing that Brooklyn Nine-Nine episode about getting over a slump, I decided to write short book reviews (see previous posts :P) and here I am facing my fear and I know I am going to write about it soon so why prolong my agony – My Mad Fat Diary Series 2.

cool as fuck

Waiting for series 2 is equal parts painful and exciting. Since last season they left us barely anything, I wished for more Rae x Finn.

the gang

They opened up with The Gang enjoying their break and with Rae and Finn yet to DTR. You know, the lightness of it gave me happy feels and tiny butterflies in my stomach. Rae and Finn forever!!!!

finn mmfd

Wish granted, I guess?

finn is a cutiepie

Finn is a cutiepie ❤ and although the real Rae Earl reiterates on her Twitter (when fangirls all over the globe fangirl about Finn) that Finn is a fictional character, I am still convinced that Finn is perfect and a real person.

So far, the first episode was okay. It was mostly Rae x Finn cuteness overload but then there are heavy parts as well about anxiety and dealing with insecurities.

i'm a mess

Things happened over the break and I don’t understand why they had to let Tix go. I guess, and maybe now I understand why but not entirely, because Rae needs to move on with her life in the “real world.” That Rae should be able to face her demons without having to go back to the mental facility to hide. That’s my guess.

On top of that, Rae is still insecure about a lot of things, and these kinds of shit are real – these things happen to people.

toilet 1toilet 2

toilet 3toilet 4

One of the reasons why I love My Mad Fat Diary is because it is the most realistic portrayal of being a fat girl I’ve ever seen on television and films. Rae isn’t just someone to identify with, she’s a cookie-cutter example of the lives fat girls live.

Some people would say, “Oh but it’s all in her head! If she stops thinking about it, she’ll get over it.” It’s not all in her head, dummy. She’s not imagining what people think and she’s not making up those side-eye stares in her head because those things HAPPEN to people like us DAILY.

kester
kester 2

Of course there are people like Kester who help Rae accept and love herself more but in the end, it’s not Kester who’s a mess. Rae is.

rae and finnrae and finn 2

And then there’s Finn who makes EVERYTHING better but apparently, he’s not the answer. Damn it, I don’t know, I sound stupid and romanticising shit but yeah, having a hot and popular and VERY understanding and sensitive boyfriend is not the answer to one’s insecurities.

feels

I wasn’t warned about the heaviness of episode two and because of that, I lost my shit. DAMN IT RAE

I DON’T KNOW I JUST WANT TO SCREAM BECAUSE YOU KNOW EVEN AFTER BINGE WATCHING SERIES 1 AND THE THREE EPISODES OF SERIES 2 I CANNOT FORGET THAT BIT WHEN RAE BROKE UP WITH FINN AND IN MY HEAD IT WAS LIKE “WELCOME BACK TO THE CRIME SCENE, ELAINE”  BECAUSE YOU KNOW RAE AND I WE’RE THE SAME. MY INSECURITIES AND HER INSECURITIES ARE THE SAME AND I CAME BACK TO A BAD PLACE WHEN I WAS REALLY UNSTABLE AND AND I JUST CANNOT DEAL WITH ANYTHING ANYMORE

I found this gif and this is the short version of this post:

let me list my feels

This has been a post.

2 thoughts on “My Mad Fat Diary Series 2 [Spoilers]

Leave a Reply

