Serious Scrubbing

I rarely Google myself because 1) that sounds egocentric and 2) it feels pointless. When I woman-ed up and thought about going on a different direction with this blog, I did a Google search on myself and found a dirty trail of sad, shameless, and distasteful me all over the internet.

It was a very unpleasant cringe-fest at 5 in the morning and it  kept getting cruddier as I scroll backwards. The things I posted on secret journals where I remained anonymous weren’t even on that results page. Imagine the horror of reading my old LJ entries – whiny, sad, poor vocabulary, aimless.

So I did some serious scrubbing. I started here and I’ll get to the outrageous ones in the coming days.

If you’re looking for that particular sad and vulnerable post (that I feel should be kept on the down low because who am I kidding, this blog is hella public), it’s gone forever.

My digital footprint should be the least of my worries right now but I don’t want to be constantly reminded of my past. My digital footprint is not everything I am. Those are just fragments of the person I am right now. Some didn’t even make it to the cut.

I didn’t do it as a form of saving face. I did it for me.

Leave a Reply

